Riot announces Valorant 2021 Champions Tour: Everything you need to know

Riot announces Valorant 2021 Champions Tour: Everything you need to know

The series will feature a Champions event in the end similar to League of Legends Worlds

Riot has unveiled a brand new global tournament series- Valorant 2021 Champions Tour that will take place throughout 2021 after Valorant First Strike is concluded.

The Champions Tour is Riot's effort to grow VALORANT into a global esport worthy of your fandom. The Champions Tour will be well structured and the expanded timeline will give teams and stars an opportunity to make a name for themselves - on both the international and regional stages.

Here are all the details about the Valorant Champions Tour 2021.

Valorant Champions Tour 2021 Structure

The VALORANT Champions Tour will feature three levels of competition: Challengers, Masters, and Champions.

  • Challengers- Regional events that will be organized by both by Riot and top-tier tournament partner operators.

  • Masters- International events that will feature best teams from each region.

  • Champions- The major international two-week event that will feature top 16 teams from around the world in attendance, where one team will be crowned the first VALORANT global Champion.

Valorant Champions Tour 2021 Timeline

The Season begins in early January with the first Challenger Series and ends with the main Champions event in December.

Throughout the championship there will be three stages of Challengers and Masters events that will gives teams multiple chances to earn points and qualify for the Champions event. In order to prevent burnouts, there will be significant amount of gaps, allowing pros and teams to recharge.

Valorant Champions Tour 2021 Format

The finals of each Challenger tournament will feature the best eight teams, and will award prizing and qualification slots into the next Masters event.

Masters events will feature global competition and will include teams from all over the world. A total of 16 teams will battle for prizes and points that will count towards qualification into Champions, the end of year world championship.

After the third Masters event, a series of Last Chance Qualifiers will provide teams with one final chance to qualify into Champions. Four LCQ tournaments will take place, creating a gauntlet from which one team per continent will qualify into Champions. The season will conclude with the Champions event.

Related Stories

The Times of Esports